President Yoweri Museveni has nominated six candidates to head the Electoral Commission (EC).

Court of Appeal Judge Simon Mugenyi Byabakama has been appointed Electoral Commission chairperson.

Others include: Hajjat Aisha Lubega (vice chairperson), Commissioners Peter Emorut, former Kajara MP Steven Tashobya, Prof George Piwang and Mustapha Ssebaggala Kigozi.

The nominees will appear before the Parliamentary appointments committee for vetting.

Dr. Badru Kiggundu’s 14-year tenure as EC chaiperson ended yesterday.

The Kiggundu – led team organized, conducted and supervised three general elections of 2006, 2011, 2016.